TECHNOLOGY

How to permanently delete your Facebook account


There is never bad time for Delete your Facebook account: It’s nice to use less than ever, and every time you log in, you’re greeted with a slurry of Heating the viral news and life updates from two or three distant acquaintances. Now, though, seems like a particularly good time to pull the plug.

There is a continuous series of The Wall Street Journal stories Which company claims Repeatedly ignore internal research on various harms cause their products. over there prolonged break Which made you think it might be a lot of Internet activity in the world should not be Operated by one company. There is a general feeling of that Perhaps Facebook, in general, is not that great of a community. At some point it’s too much, you know? If you’ve reached that point, here’s how to quit Facebook for good, along with how to determine how much it can track you after you’re gone.

How to deactivate your Facebook account

Let’s first establish that there are some things you can do that feel like deleting your Facebook account, when in fact they are not. Do you want to delete the application from your phone? It may be a laxative, but it is not functionally useful. Do you want to deactivate your Facebook account? A little better, in that you mostly disappear from the platform, but it still keeps all your data, and waits patiently and indefinitely for your return.

And look, well, maybe this is the right choice for you; Maybe you want a nicotine patch instead of eating cold food. There are no wrong answers! To deactivate your account, click the down arrow in the top right of the page when Facebook loads. click Settings and privacy, and then Settings. From there, move your gaze to the left options panel, and click Your Facebook information. Then go back to the central menu, where you can scroll down to deactivation And delete. Phew!

When you click on it, the two options are announced: deactivate and delete. It is disabled by default, so go ahead and click Keep deactivating the account. You’ll need to re-enter your password, which will open a page that requires you to give a reason for leaving, and gives you a chance to unsubscribe from emails from Facebook (notifications, essentially, that a friend has invited you to join a group or similar, even though you zombie account) and keep using Messenger. Select all that apply, press this blue color disable button, and call it today.

Well, approx. Deactivation doesn’t get that much done in practice. Messages you sent to your friends will remain in their inbox, and they will still appear in their friends list. Posts and comments you made to groups will remain visible to admins. And again, Facebook will continue to keep all your data forever. All you have to do to reactivate is to log back into your account. It’s like writing a big article “Leaving New York” while still paying exorbitant rent on a cute little bedroom in Astoria.

How to delete your Facebook account on Real

If you’re ready to make a more serious commitment to sever ties, take a quick minute first to think about whether Facebook has any data on its servers that you might want to keep. You may have used it as a photo album in the late period. Maybe you have messages you want to stick to. Maybe you did a good job once? If so, what did it look like!

The point is, it can be useful to save your Facebook data – or transfer it to another service – before you destroy your account. This is not difficult, although it may take some time. From the same down arrow icon you started with before, head to Settings and privacy, Then Settings. In this right pane, go to Your Facebook information. If you just want to switch up where you keep all this stuff online, tap Transfer a copy of your information, then choose from nine options it presents to you. (That’s Dropbox, Google Photos, Backblaze, that kind of thing. Also: Blogger?) Once you’ve chosen a service, you can choose the type and amount of data you want to transfer; For photos, for example, you can set a time range, or select specific albums. Make those decisions, call the destination service, and start the transfer. You may have to go through this process multiple times if you want photos to go to one place and posts to go to another.



Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button